Interview with Mishael and Ariel

The other day, I was reflecting on the impermanence of the nine-year-old and six-and-a-half-year-old perspectives on life that my son and daughter, Mishael and Ariel, currently possess. So I compiled a few random questions, sat them down, and interviewed them. You know, for posterity. And just because. Here are the results.

 

 

Interview with Mishael

  1. What do you think is the best thing about life?

A: I’m going between two things: youtube and eating….uh, youtube.

  1. What’s your least favorite thing about life?

A: Swimming.

  1. How do you think life will be different as an adult?

A: I’ll have kids.

  1. What are the best and worst parts about being a kid?

A: [Best] You don’t have to go to work. [Worst] You can’t do as many things.

  1. What are the best and worst parts about being a boy?

A: [Best] You don’t have to give birth. [Worst] Everybody expects you to be all tough.

  1. What do you want to accomplish in your life?

A: Getting a million subscribers on my channel.

  1. What do you do for fun?

A: Youtube.

  1. What do you wish you could do for fun?

A: I guess go to Disneyland and see if they have a Star Wars section since Star Wars now belongs to Disney.

  1. What do you hope changes in the world by the time you’re an adult?

A: People live forever.

  1. What do you hope stays the same?

A: I still don’t have to do swimming lessons … [gives reproachful look to mom]  … oh, wait…[scowls jokingly]. [Real answer] I hope youtube won’t be deleted.

  1. Where’s your favorite place to go?

A: Isaac and Mariette’s [his mother’s cousin, whom we were about to visit].

  1. What makes a person good?

A: One word: hilarious. [In course of the following discussion, in which I waxed philosophical] — You know what makes a person bad? Using big words.

  1. What makes a person bad?

A: Having a bunch of stupid rules. [Ariel mutters to herself, “Like you have to put your feet on the computer before you use it. That would be a stupid rule.”]

  1. What’s the most important lesson you’ve learned?

A: Never force somebody to believe in a god that they don’t want to believe is real.

  1. If you could tell everyone in the world one thing, what would it be?

A: No Minecraft, no life.

  1. What other questions would you ask/what else would you say?

A: I knew what it was, but I already forgot. Don’t tell me I’m going to have to think again. [slight pause] What’s your favorite youtube channel? [Me: what would you answer?] More Ali-A.

Interview with Ariel

  1. What do you think is the best thing about life?

A: Well, the best thing about life is just that, like, when you’re a kid you don’t have to be that busy…and I got Alex a couple years ago…[Alex is a stuffed bear.]

  1. What’s your least favorite thing about life?

A: My least favorite thing is that kids always get bossed around.

  1. How do you think life will be different as an adult?

A: You won’t get bossed around.

4. What are the best and worst parts about being a girl?

A: The worst part is, it’ll hurt so much to get your baby out. And the best parts are, I don’t know… girls have princess toys…fairies… Frozen Minecraft… all that stuff…

5. What do you want to accomplish in your life?

A: Having my youtube channel! When I’m nine. [Mentions to Mishael aside] And you’re thirteen. Mishael: Why do you get to start earlier? Ariel: I got to start showering earlier. [At this point, anticipating a bellicose turn, I redirected the conversation.]

6. What do you do for fun?

A: I play legos.

  1. What do you wish you could do for fun?

A: I wish I could have my youtube channel.

8. What do you hope changes in the world by the time you’re an adult?

A: Robots can sleep with you, they can remind you what to do, they can do the cleaning, they can cook…

9. What do you hope stays the same?

A: Well…I have Minecraft….

10. Where’s your favorite place to go?

A: On vacations! Like vacations to a beach. And Disney World and Disney Land.

11. What makes a person good?

A: If they stay friends with you for years to come, like, ever since they were a kid they were friends with you. Also, if you trust them ’cause they never tell lies and you know it ’cause you snuck into their closets… I’m just kidding!!! ‘Cause they show you it!

12. What makes a person bad?

A: When they try to kidnap you and kill you!

13. What’s the most important lesson you’ve learned?

A: Be kind and caring and DON’T TURN EVIL. Put the “don’t turn evil” all in capitals.

14. If you could tell everyone in the world one thing, what would it be?

A: I’d tell them you don’t have to believe things without proof.

15. What other questions would you ask/what else would you say?

A: I’d ask, what’s your favorite tv show? And I would answer, Really Me.

One thought on “Interview with Mishael and Ariel

Leave a Reply

