PWCAT: The Love Vow

I’ve always admired people who are willing to be honest about who they are. Not just with themselves or a couple trusted friends, but openly. I think the world has surprisingly few such individuals – many seem more interested in presenting themselves to the world as the image of what they think the world expects and approves. But to me, the most beautiful a person can be is when they set aside the expectations of their family, the subculture in which they were raised, and society at large, and simply say, “This is who I am”. That’s not an easy thing to do, and I don’t just mean because of the immense pressure to conform. I speak in terms of fundamental ability – years of living in various levels of community and negotiating the complex dance of living up to expectations can make you a stranger to your own self. I suspect some people never really get to know themselves as the person they’d naturally gravitate toward becoming because they’re so busy pleasing everyone else.

 

 

I’m not trying to diss people-pleasers here – I suppose the machinery of civilization probably runs much smoother because of them, and I try to respect all people for the good in them. (And maybe meeting expectations is a genuinely self-expressive act for some people.) But for today’s episode of People Who Create Awesome Things, I’ve chosen to highlight the efforts of someone who’s on the journey of honestly discovering who she is and sharing that unique personal beauty with the world. I think there’s much value in what she’s doing. Seeing the bravery of candid openness is the only nudge some people need to find the courage to pursue their own journey and be who they truly are without capitulating to external expectations. I for one have already drawn a measure of courage from this project and I’m sure there are others out there who would have a similar reaction.

So if you’re interested, check out the autobiographical project, The Love Vow, and share in someone’s ongoing efforts to create something awesome. Who knows, maybe it will inspire you to do your own awesome thing. 🙂

2 thoughts on “PWCAT: The Love Vow

  1. jess

    I repect those people too. I know I am better at it then I used to be, but still have long to go.My husband is amazing at this! I find the hardest part for me is w my family. I don’t want to break their hearts, yet the things that would break their heart seem trite and unimportant. I find such courage in your post you are braver then I am. :).

    Like

    Reply
  2. exetazon Post author

    And perhaps a lot of people like your husband wouldn’t have that much strength without people like you to make them feel unconditionally loved and respected. Loving people that way takes a lot of courage too. 🙂 I get what you mean about family.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

